Foley

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kevin Shields

Super Moderator
What is the secret of Sean Foley's success?

Getting a foot in the door and then finding the right students who can do his pattern IMO. Right place at the right time. We're in a weird era where the teachers are damn near as well known as the players. I, for one, am tired of hearing about coaches in golf. It's as if no one can play on their own anymore.

When Sean O'Hair leaves and then Hunter Mahan is quoted as saying technically I'm no good right now it just shows that golf is too tough and success is so fleeting. Coaches can only do so much.

Last edited:
I would love to see a player be really successful without a coach to bring some balance and perspective back to this over coached over gymed over nutritionally perfect golf world we have pushed at us now. I am a coach and have been for 15 years and I get kids now who think it's nothing to do with them working hard it's about some magic secret that the coach can tell them. They think less time hitting balls and more time in the gym is gonna make them tiger woods. . . . Still the best way to get good is to play golf and dig it out the ground . . Find your own way. We help as coaches but we are not the super stars. . All these guys have worked like crazy and still do out on tour, it's the hardest game it will never be mastered . . More players like Bubba we need. it's a fun game and shit happens when you you have a club moving that quickly

Brian Manzella

Administrator
Sean's success is fairly easy to figure out.

He is a really smart guy, knows how to talk to 10 guys and know who knows what, and he knows how to play the game.

He is a pretty funny, really super nice guy, who never goes anywhere looking like a bum, and has created an image that is really sellable.

He is a very hard worker, and a good motivator.

He took his early chances (Ohair and Ames) and parlayed them into a all-world stable.

What else you wanna know?

ej20

New