Legal?

Status
Not open for further replies.
In order to help with my alignment, I often stand behind the ball and "draw" a line in the grass with my club head by lightly dragging my club through the grass where I want my feet to align. Generally the line is only visable to me and only for a few seconds - my playing partners call it my "imaginary line"

My playing partner said he thought what I was doing maybe illegal. Is there anything in the rules that would prevent such a move?


Ron
 
Quick Google search reveals Rule 8.2/1 which states that off the green you many lay down clubs or other alignment aids, but they must be removed prior to taking your stroke.

I'm not rules expert, but seems to me that you are clearly violating the rules. I have never seen that done in my last 50 years of playing golf.
 
It's illegal. Do what Jack Nicklaus did and spot an intermediate target a foot or two in front of the ball. Align yourself with that.
P.S. You can't tap your putter on the green to indcate your target either.
 

Jim Kobylinski

Super Moderator
From my understanding that is illegal because essentially that "line" is still there and hasn't been "removed." Use the club to get your alignment and then just pick it up and don't move. That is technically legal.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top