Scholarship

Status
Not open for further replies.
My son has found a belated interest in the game and is improving pretty rapidly (he is 16 years old). He would like to study in the US and combine it with golf. He is pretty/very good academically so it would need to be combined with a course which would be relevant for industry/commerce on completion as he is not interested in pursuing golf professionally.

What is the minimum golfing standard required for a decent scholarship at a good US College/University and how is this generally measured? As he has "started" late he will not have a great golfing CV with respect to national and international level tournaments, but should still reach a HCP of scratch. Is it still possible to pursue this nevertheless?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Kevin Shields

Super Moderator
He's got the foreigner part down already. They have a better chance than kids from the U.S. for whatever reason. I'm no expert but I don't think they care about his handicap. I would think its all tournament results. Maybe a combo academic scholarship with some golf thrown in.

Every large to medium to small to really small college/university in the states has a golf team. And as Kevin noted, if he has an accent, he will find a roster spot. I would suggest narrowing down the list by geographic region you/he'd like him to live in, and then start looking at the schools by what they offer academically that interests him.

Jared Willerson

Super Moderator
This situation is really funny. Take for example a kid that plays the home course of a college up the road, the kid is a plus 2 handicap, reigning city junior champ, but his family didn't cart him around the US playing AJGA. The college brings in some kid from Sweden, beautiful swing, local kid gives him 3 a side, local college still won't talk to him.

Happens everyday. So yeah, wulsy, just tell every college coach you're from England and presto! More college offers than you can shake a stick at.