Straightening Left Leg at Impact

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi all,
Here is something that I've been tinkering with for a few months. First a little about my swing...pretty good move back off the ball. Left arm across the shoulder line. Not intentionally single plane, but close to it naturally. Downswing has a fair amount of lateral movement to it. With irons, I hit a good closed face draw. Very consistant. With my driver and 3wd it is a different story. Because of my "fair amount of lateral movement" on the downswing, my left leg stays flexed at impact. This causes a lot of pushes and blocks. But recently, I began 'forcing' my left leg to straighten at impact. This, of course, forces me to release my driver and I've had a decent amount of success with it. My question is, is this something I should be forcing to happen or should I be looking for other causes of the push/block?

Jim Kobylinski

Super Moderator
Hi all,
Here is something that I've been tinkering with for a few months. First a little about my swing...pretty good move back off the ball. Left arm across the shoulder line. Not intentionally single plane, but close to it naturally. Downswing has a fair amount of lateral movement to it. With irons, I hit a good closed face draw. Very consistant. With my driver and 3wd it is a different story. Because of my "fair amount of lateral movement" on the downswing, my left leg stays flexed at impact. This causes a lot of pushes and blocks. But recently, I began 'forcing' my left leg to straighten at impact. This, of course, forces me to release my driver and I've had a decent amount of success with it. My question is, is this something I should be forcing to happen or should I be looking for other causes of the push/block?

That's why.

Hi all,

EGP,
Just a thought,