Balance aids: Any good?

Status
Not open for further replies.

bcoak

New
Just purchased some balance disks from Izzo. I have been working on them and i really like the way they help with balance and sensing how your weight moves.
Just wondering if anyone else uses them or something like them and thinks they are beneficial.

bcoak

New
I have been using these for about a week now and recommend them, especially as winter approaches. You can really feel how your weight and body moves and it allows you to move more efficiently. It also gives you a decent workout and stretching.

Leek

New
If you really like balance aids, try getting one of those foam half cylinders they use for physical therapy. They cost under $10.
When I was a McGetrick student, he really wanted many of his students to use them. I remember when he put me on one, my alignments improved immediately. Unfortunately, my golf didn't.

Leek

New
I think they can help with setup. I don't believe for a minute they can help the actual swing. Why? The tenuous postion will inhibit the pivot. That's why I said my golf didn't improve from that balance thingy.

Before everyone replies with the famous Sam Snead barefoot story, two things to consider: swinging barefoot is not the same as on some sort of tool that makes balance difficult. Also, we don't have Sam Snead's swing.

Last edited:

bcoak

New
I don't see how they are useful at all, what are they suppose to help in your golf swing?

I think they can help with your balance, being more aware of how the weight shifts in the swing, and also helps with stretching and strength in the core.

My tendency is to get too far away from the ball in the backswing and these seem to help me stay more within my feet and not move off the ball. You can really see how to keep your weight under you and what happens when it moves around.

Brian Manzella

Administrator
Well....

I think they are just awful for the golf swing.