Beyond the lesson tee

Status
Not open for further replies.
So, I'd like to think I'm not one of those guys discussed by SteveT. I started playing in my 20's, but kind of think of my golf life in two stages, pre-Manzella/Jacobs and post. I never thought a tip or new piece of equipment would make me good. I tried lessons, but was frustrated by what I got. Found this site and have seen Brian every time he has been near NYC in the last 4 years. I also try to check in with Mike J. when I can, but work and family and 100 miles of congested highway prevent visits as frequently as I'd like.

I joined a club this year and that gave me access to a grass range and practice green. Still had a totally frustrating season. Still a 12 h-cap. People say I should be lower, I think its b/c my swing looks fairly orthodox. But it gets a little tiring hearing doubts about my index. I once started a thread asking about keys to break 80 and I didn't even sniff it this year.

I did reflect and grade aspects of my game. Driving C-, too many rounds with at least one drive that cost shots. Hybrids B, pretty reasonable results most of the time. Mid irons to 9 iron B, again pretty good results. Wedge play C, shots within 125 give me fits. Short game (chipping, pitching, putting) B, not too bad.

My goal has always been to get to a single digit cap. I like to think I'm pretty knowledgeable compared to a lot of players, but I'm kind of lost on where to go from here.

The information and lessons I got from Brian and Mike are second to none. I guess I'm looking on suggestions of how to play the game better. I obviously need more than lessons on a pratice range.

Maybe a useless thread, I realize. But maybe not. Any experiences of what people have done to get to the next level would be appreciated. If nothing else, thanks for listening. This game can get a hold of ya.