Crossing the line

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have a problem with club crossing the line at top of backswing with my weight moving towards the toes. This of course never happens my practice swings which are much shorter. Left wrist is slightly cupped at the top contributing to the problem, but my right wrist physically can't bend back more than 10-20 degrees. Any suggestions?

I'm not an expert on the golf swing but I also have limited wrist extension approx 30 degrees, but I'm still able to manage the right arm backswing with a flat left wrist, I just have shorted my backswing. Did you have any injury to your wrist to give you such a limited range of motion?

Certainly worth a try, but I always thought that crossing the line was a result of too much forearm rotation. Thanks

quote:Originally posted by BENTONB

I'm not an expert on the golf swing but I also have limited wrist extension approx 30 degrees, but I'm still able to manage the right arm backswing with a flat left wrist, I just have shorted my backswing. Did you have any injury to your wrist to give you such a limited range of motion?
Too much tennis, not enough golf!

Brian Manzella

Administrator
Ripper...

At the top of 'normal' backswing the left arm has rotated 90 degrees to the plane.

If the golfer rotates more than that the club shaft 'lays off.'

Try it ;)

quote:Originally posted by brianman

Ripper...

At the top of 'normal' backswing the left arm has rotated 90 degrees to the plane.

Try it ;)

Thanks Brian. Whenever I've worked on forearm rotation I've taken club inside too early. Hard to make these changes on your own. Maybe someday I can try it in Kentucky!

quote:Originally posted by brianman

Ripper...

Try it ;)

Maybe I rotate too early cause when I try this club gets inside too quickly and I've been working on getting the club more up rather than around in the backstroke. Any other suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks.