Eldrick

Status
Not open for further replies.
Just my two cents, but I don't want to hear how he needs to spend MORE time on the range.

When a player plays well for three days (leads the field in GIR) two events in a row and then struggles with all facets of the game on Sunday, its not a physical issue. Its a mental one.

He's quickly becoming very ordinary.

I will say what I have been saying for 7-8 years with him: when he is not putting EVERYTHING IN THE HOLE FROM EVERYWHERE, he is not that great.

Great player, no question, but not the same guy hitting the ball in almost a decade.

Kevin Shields

Super Moderator
I would also include when he isn't hitting three shots a round that nobody in history could hit, as well as making everything in sight.

It's ok for most of us to agree that we are fans of Tiger and want him to play his best. It's good for the game.

Its also ok to admit that he may never be the force he once was.

IMO, even if he is the greatest athlete that has ever played the game, he's not just some good swing advice or a better teacher away from winning the Masters by 12 shots. There is more to winning golf tournaments than who's got the best mechanics.

Tiger is no longer head and shoulders better than everyone and people no longer fold up shop when his name is on the leaderboard, plus that clutch putting is not so clutch anymore.

At the peak of his newest form, he flat got run over today. That doesn't wash away in the post round shower. He experienced today what he's dished out for over a decade, and it SHOWED.

He will win again, no doubt. But he's now also learning how to not win, and he's giving himself more and more reps at that too.