How to Teach Someone who Won't Give up the Strong Grip

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm not a real golf instructor, but since I am a teacher in real life and 25 year diligent student of golf, I have given golf lessons to a few people over the years. Usually I either taught very new golfers - and I found it was very easy to get them into some better positions and find out what it means to compress a ball - or a gave some small lessons to players that were already pretty good.

But for the past month I've been working with a golfer who can already break 90 and I think has the natural ability to break 80 fairly quickly. He makes a decent pass at the ball, is young and flexible and fairly athletic.

He has a very strong grip and he address the ball with the face very closed. He then makes a very stiff, all-arm-no-turn swing (he even waggles like a hockey player - holding both arms out stiffly and sweeping back and forth). That is, he has less shoulder turn than he should and almost NO hip turn. He hits through and up on the ball (he tees a 3 wood higher than I tee a driver) with his arms, leading to a normal shot that's a bit of a pull. His misses are tops and the occasional hook. Both are easy to diagnose: he hooks whenever he doesn't open the face enough from that super-closed setup position; he tops it because he has almost no down and out in his swing.

I started with the grip, planning to then add some NSA components. If you turned his hands to a neutral position, he'd have the clubface closed 50 degrees. So I taught him the grip and a bit of setup, sent him Brian's grip PDF, and talked it out with him.