NSA help

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm afraid of the hook because I spent most of my time in the left side of the course when I started playing. So I had settled on a pretty steep swing that faded nearly everytime (some more than others). I tried to start NSA a while ago to try to get rid of my slice. The twistaway would hook so I got scared and stopped trying the pattern and instead would twistaway a little to play a small fade. I felt that I did okay fading everything. But after starting to get too OTT, and having misses in the left (pull/pulldraw) and the right (push/fade/slice) which is crap, I decided to go back and really devote myself to range work and fix my slice for good, learn to draw my shots, and then fade it if I wanted to. And I mean a small yard draws and fades.

So I started to "flatten" my swing to swing under the stick, feels more like an elbow plane motion instead of straight from the top of the TSP motion. And I started to full twistaway.

I do hit some smother hooks and ugly ass unplayable shots but some decent hooks and 10/20 yard draws are coming around in the irons. I do push it with the irons too and I feel completely inaccurate with them now. I mainly push/slices my driver as of yesterday. I did this for my irons and driver the first time I tried NSA as well. I have problems twisting away the driver face and so that's probably why I'm slicing it. So, what's the biggest culprit? I'm pretty sure it's both, but is my clubface control or is my attempt at tracing a plane line worse? Does it sound like I'm missing something? I don't want stop again to revert back to my old swing, am I on the right track?

I've lost complete control of my swing, so much that I avoid playing now. Only shots that I feel go where I want them to are my short game shorts (minus putts :p). So any insight on the root of the problem/what to do next is much appreciated, thanks!