Barclays at Bethpage

Status
Not open for further replies.
Am I the only one who is growing tired of the jerkwads in the gallery every time they have an event there?

ZAP

New
Being a jerk is the new cool thing I guess. I have a feeling I might be embarrassed to be an American they had a Ryder Cup there.

I've worked the Barclays for the past three days... lots of beer being pounded at 9am. Add in a few hours of baking in the sun, IQs hovering around 85, the chance to be heard on tv, zero chance of being thrown out, and the results are evident.

I hate the "mashed potato", "in-da-hole", and "ba-ba-booey" guys more than most; but I've lost all hope. You see, no one cares. When a douche yells the idiots around him laugh. I sat in a tower behind the 13th green for 9 hours today and I heard every variation on the theme. Marshalls laughed, other idiots laughed, etc. The nice older man I worked with listened to me complain about the "in-da-holers" and he said "Meh, it's part of the experience. It doesn't bother me."

I fear that we (the anti-yellers) are in the minority.

A Ryder Cup at Bethpage might be the last Ryder Cup held on US soil.

Am I the only one who is growing tired of the jerkwads in the gallery every time they have an event there?

Tournaments at Bethpage are only watchable with the volume off. The Ryder Cup could never be played there. Horrific, really. Why is it like this?

It kills me that the screaming drunks think people want to listen to their "wit."

Last edited:
As a life long Long Islander, I am embarrassed by the behavior of there idiots! I am afraid that because of their antics, we may never get a Major here again. Where are the State police? Why can't they do what they do at other sporting events? Lock these guys up!

Jimmy