Cold weather experience - when do you club up?

Status
Not open for further replies.
So, I am driving down to Malone, NY for a golf weekend this weekend with some of my buddies from university and the weather is supposed to be cool. I've heard that the ball doesn't travel as far in cooler weather, but I have no experience to speak of. I realize that this is a bit subjective, but I was wondering if any of you can offer any guidance as to at what temperature do you typically club up due to the cold?

I've heard that the ball doesn't travel as far in cooler weather, but I have no experience to speak of.
Come on rub it in that the summer is over to all of us who don't live in ever sunny areas :( Jealous!!!

In the winter I normally take at least one club more but that is for temps below 10 cel (50 F).

Come on rub it in that the summer is over to all of us who don't live in ever sunny areas :( Jealous!!!

In the winter I normally take at least one club more but that is for temps below 10 cel (50 F).

Ha! Thanks ParHunter. I actually live just outside of Toronto, Canada, so, not exactly balmy here either. Highs for the weekend are 15 cel. Thanks again for the help.

I play in NY year round. I play the lady precept ball when its gets cold. I hit it about 5-7 yards less than in the warmer months

I thought I saw or read somewhere, and I think Jim K may have said it, that you lose a yard for every 2 degrees under 70 degrees farenheit or something along that line?

Jim Kobylinski

Super Moderator
I thought I saw or read somewhere, and I think Jim K may have said it, that you lose a yard for every 2 degrees under 70 degrees farenheit or something along that line?

Well i was just repeating something i had found then, so essentially 0.5 yard for every degree. So from 70 to 50 would be 10 yards but i don't know if that is on irons or woods; seems excessive.