Current thinking on lag

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey guys

I notice in a lot of Brian's videos some form of 'lagging clubhead takeaway'. Commonly I see mid body hands at address, the clubhead staying behind the left arm going back, then 'loading' behind in the transition. When I started playing this lag thing was being made out to be the big thing.
Flippy impact? Need more lag. Fat/thin? More lag & hold through impact. And so on. Of course, I am referring to the pressure felt on the right index finger. There is even a training aid around to heighten the sense of this feeling..

So...

Is this as important to playing good golf as some people would have me believe? Can we play good without it? What is the current thinking?

I know some people say they don't ever notice/feel it, and play good golf. But equally, that probably doesn't mean it isn't there - just something they don't monitor. I suppose I think of it as insurance of a forward leaning shaft. But then is it not possible to have forward lean at impact without this lag pressure?

I feel like I can really try to float load, create a large feeling of force on that index finger, and hold it into impact...and hit a decent shot. OR..I can just hinge the club up earlier and never get that loading feeling in the transition. But..the ball isn't aware of any of this right? Speed is speed, and if both swings have the same speed :confused:

I guess my question is really...does this loading feeling actually bring something to the table, or is it more of a case of feel vs real?

If this is answered in the anti-summit video then it is something I am eager to watch (when I have the $$$ for it) and thats fair enough, don't expect something for free. Also had a quick search before posting, if its been discussed apologies :)

Hey guys