Do new players need a better standard of instructor?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Steve Khatib

Super Moderator
Speaking from personal experience I have had a lot of friends and clients refer students to me. Only to have the student say to their friend prior to coming for any instruction "oh he is only suitable for better players, I am a beginner he is too good a teacher for me". "I just need an okay instructor to teach me the basics".

I challenge is paradime. I believe it is actually more important for a new player to have instruction from the best availible person. If you can allready hit it you will still benefit from the best guy ofcourse, howver a line drawing teacher at a busy turnstyle range might not ruin you as much as, they might just make a beginner quit the game.

What are everyones thoughts on this topic? :confused:

Kevin Shields

Super Moderator
I think the perception might be on cost. You could, conceivably at least, learn some good things about the grip, posture and such from a twenty dollar book rather than get those principles from a $150 hour teacher.

But.....once you put some motion into the equation, I would go to the best right off the bat. You can get screwed from the very beginning from an average or below average instructor. The person teaching multiplication in grade school doesnt have to know anything past that. Once the golf student "graduates" to the more advanced teaher, he can spend alot of time undoing the mistakes the previous teacher made with misconceptions, etc.
Not so with math.

Now if the "advanced" teacher cant dumb down the talk and over uses alot of jargon and angles, then its the teacher's fault if he cant get any new players.

"If you cant explain it in childlike terms, you dont really know it yourself."

ggsjpc

New