Forefingers down shaft

Status
Not open for further replies.
Anyone putting their forefingers down each side af the putter shaft? What you would say are the advantages and disadvantages of this method?

Jim Kobylinski

Super Moderator
This is what i reccomend as grip type when i teach putting. It gives you pressure points for your putter.

Left forefinger you can use to push the putter head back (or guide it back) and then use the right forefinger to push the putter head through (or guide it through).

I call it my gun slinger grip ;)! Cuz if you took your hands off the putter and put up your hands you'd look like a 5 year old who's playing with his make believe gun. :D

Anyone putting their forefingers down each side af the putter shaft? What you would say are the advantages and disadvantages of this method?

I've been doing it for about 12 years now F...:)

However, I like to put my left forefinger right on the shaft as well, not outside the fingers of the right hand as most do. Then I wrap my right hand fingers around the shaft and the forefinger...

This puts the right hand in control of the club and the timing of the stroke.

Stretching the forefingers down the shaft firms up the wrists, which means there will be less tendency for the wrists to beak during the stroke.

However...:):) Breaking the wrists isn't as bad of a deal as people think. As long as it is not excessive, it can help with timing by making the action more akin to a right hand throw, which is the natural way you would want to direct the ball towards the hole...

he main thing about the putting grip, whatever method you use, is that your grip should contribute to giving you the maximum right hand "feeling" and control...putting is a right hand action...everything should follow the intent of the right hand, and NOT follow the shouilder tilt/turn/rock, they are secondary supportive or "comfort" actions, which in my experience are not neccessary...:)