How to start my HS teams season?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Former or current golf coaches - I've been a high school golf coach for 10 years now and I'm always looking for ways to improve how I run my team. I'm looking for ideas from the rest of you on how to start the golf season for my high school boys team.

Most of the players that I get are three sport athletes. They don't get a lot of time outside of golf season and summers (unless they are playing AAU ball) to work on their game. I have four days of practice with them before I will start qualifying rounds. What, in order of importance, should I work on with my guys before they start qualifying?

I'll assume that grip, aim, and stance (alignment) would be the first things. Is their anything else I can do to help them shake the rust off and start the season off on a positive note? I usually start with about 30 players and cut down to 18.

Thanks in advance for any help.

When I graduated college, I started to help out a local Myrtle Beach HS team as an assistant.

First off, I don't care what anybody says...the kids need to know and understand golf ettiquette and have a good grasp of the rules. If they do, then you don't need to teach them. But from my experience in HS golf, you likely get a few kids who are pretty much new to the game or they've played the game, but nobody has bothered to teach them the ettiquette and rules. Can save yourself a lot of problems from happening further on down the road.

A lot of this depends on the players. The more advanced players tend to need more advanced training. The beginners need to learn fundamentals. I think Brian's CoFF video would be great for just about everybody involved. Then I would go over the video with them to make sure they are paying attention. I would also look for a video on how to read greens. Again, it can help all of those involved.