My Swing - 7 Iron DTL

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello,

My Swing - [media]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8ApUxrXG8MA[/media]

I frequent here quite a bit but rarely post. I enjoy much of the great information that is given out for free. I'm currently a freshman in college and I have been playing golf seriously now for 4 or 5 years. After my first two years I haven't really gotten much better, but I've been able to shoot in the low 80's pretty consistently, and I've shot 80 twice already this year. My swing seems to come and go. I know i used to have a problem with over-rotating/sucking it inside, but I haven't seen my swing on video in a long time. I wasn't that surprised to see that my swing hasn't changed much, and I still have some of the same faults even though I have read about not over rotating the left arm wedge, and also about not "popping-out". I have bought the soft draw pattern and tried to implement it earlier in the season with little success. My misses tend to be thin and fats...and in either direction. Either toe hooks or push slices. But I do have day's where I can hit it pretty straight. I'm just looking for some direction and things to work on. Thanks,

Chris

I'm sure will get some advice from one or more of the Manzella Instructors, or other actual Instructors on the forum. I will offer up a couple of observations.

Your posture doesn't look athletic. You have too much knee flex at address and are too bent over. You are flexible in the extreme, so why add in that much knee flex.

You are overdoing it. Backswing too long, follow through just too much. You can do this because of your flexibility and the fact that your swing is, essentially, all arms.

Your initial backswing move is to move your hands and arms before your core.
Sequence is the key. Backswing should be hips, then core, then Arms. Downswing is the reverse.

Those are my tidbits.