Rules decision... you make the call.

Status
Not open for further replies.
This happened to me several weeks ago in our state am qualifier. The hole was a shortish par 4 with a 20 yard wide hazard (creek) running across the hole 80 yards short of the green. The proper shot is to lay well back of the hazard because the fairway shelves off and slopes down to the creek. I chose, however, to get it down as close as possible to this little flat spot just in front of the bridge crossing the hazard. Not the highest percentage play, but I figured I needed a couple birdies on the last 4 holes. Not burdened by smarts, I rolled the dice to get an 80 yard second over a 160 yard second. The ball took off exactly where I had planned, but when I got down there to see where it finished I found it on the timber framed bridge spanning the hazard. Now for the ruling…

The ball came to rest in the void between two of the floor timbers about a 1/3 of the way onto the bridge. The rules guy was up by the green, so I was able to wave him down for some help. I asked to mark the ball so when my playing partners carted across the bridge it wouldn’t roll off into the creed, he agreed that was a good idea. He then said I could take relief, but said I wouldn’t like the spot I had to drop. It was a pie shape sliver (literally the size of a piece of pie) between the cart path and the painted hazard line. The ground the ball would actually land on was landscape rock (if I could actually drop it that precisely). If the ball miraculously came to rest in that sliver of ground, I would be standing a couple feet inside the hazard and have the cart path in the way. He said relief from the path would still have me playing (standing) from inside the hazard and trying to drop onto the landscape rock. I disagreed “enthusiastically” with his decision and asked that he get on the phone and get a second opinion because the decision would probably decide if I qualified or not (of course that’s disregarding the previous 14 mediocre to poor holes I had just played :rolleyes:).

What do you think the ruling should be?
 
This happened to me several weeks ago in our state am qualifier. The hole was a shortish par 4 with a 20 yard wide hazard (creek) running across the hole 80 yards short of the green. The proper shot is to lay well back of the hazard because the fairway shelves off and slopes down to the creek. I chose, however, to get it down as close as possible to this little flat spot just in front of the bridge crossing the hazard. Not the highest percentage play, but I figured I needed a couple birdies on the last 4 holes. Not burdened by smarts, I rolled the dice to get an 80 yard second over a 160 yard second. The ball took off exactly where I had planned, but when I got down there to see where it finished I found it on the timber framed bridge spanning the hazard. Now for the ruling…

The ball came to rest in the void between two of the floor timbers about a 1/3 of the way onto the bridge. The rules guy was up by the green, so I was able to wave him down for some help. I asked to mark the ball so when my playing partners carted across the bridge it wouldn’t roll off into the creed, he agreed that was a good idea. He then said I could take relief, but said I wouldn’t like the spot I had to drop. It was a pie shape sliver (literally the size of a piece of pie) between the cart path and the painted hazard line. The ground the ball would actually land on was landscape rock (if I could actually drop it that precisely). If the ball miraculously came to rest in that sliver of ground, I would be standing a couple feet inside the hazard and have the cart path in the way. He said relief from the path would still have me playing (standing) from inside the hazard and trying to drop onto the landscape rock. I disagreed “enthusiastically” with his decision and asked that he get on the phone and get a second opinion because the decision would probably decide if I qualified or not (of course that’s disregarding the previous 14 mediocre to poor holes I had just played :rolleyes:).

What do you think the ruling should be?

If the ball was on a bridge OVER a hazard, it is in the hazard. The marging of a water hazard extend vertically...unless I read you wrong
 
Rule 24-2:
Note 1: If a ball is in a water hazard (including a lateral water hazard), the player may not take relief from interference by an immovable obstruction. The player must play the ball as it lies or proceed under Rule 26-1.

Was the ball actually over the margin of the the water hazard?
 
I had same one last week, no free drop, penalty drop to nearest point free from hazard...

Or you can play it, and if on bridge, ground club
 
Rule 24-2:
Note 1: If a ball is in a water hazard (including a lateral water hazard), the player may not take relief from interference by an immovable obstruction. The player must play the ball as it lies or proceed under Rule 26-1.

Was the ball actually over the margin of the the water hazard?

This sounds right to me.....I feel like I've heard this before. If the ball is on the bridge OVER the hazard, no relief, considered inside the hazard, can't ground the club either. Tough call and I'm no expert.
 
This sounds right to me.....I feel like I've heard this before. If the ball is on the bridge OVER the hazard, no relief, considered inside the hazard, can't ground the club either. Tough call and I'm no expert.

Per USGA Rules and Decisions:

26/1 When Ball Is in Water Hazard
5e6357ca-4421-4dab-a626-4a0fc8b9062c.gif

Q. Is a ball in a water hazard when some part of the ball breaks the plane that extends vertically upward from the margin of the hazard even though the ball does not touch the ground or grass inside the hazard?

A. Yes, since the Definition of "Water Hazard" provides that "the margin of a water hazard extends vertically upwards and downwards."
 
Alright, alright smart guys... :)

I guess me and the 1st rules official were the only two who didn't know this rule. He did allow me to replace the ball back in its original position between the boards and play the shot from there without a penalty. The official on the other end of the radio did say that that was a change in the ruling not too long ago (don't know if that's true or not).

The strategy of squeezing it down there did payoff, my second was inside 80 and made birdie. :eek: I'll be here all week to answer course management questions. :rolleyes:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top