The hallmark of a great instructor

Status
Not open for further replies.
IMHO, a great instructor reveals themselves when they start moving away from teaching A swing and toward helping a golfer understand THEIR swing.

Not being an instructor myself I'm curious as to when this transition occurs? Is it based on the golfer's expectations for their game, their goals? Is it obvious that some golfers just don't have "it" and they need to work with what they have?

Thanks.

Last edited:
IMHO, a great instructor reveals themselves when they start moving away from teaching A swing and toward helping a golfer understand THEIR swing.

Not being an instructor myself I'm curious as to when this transition occurs? Is it based on the golfer's expectations for their game, their goals? Is it obvious that some golfers just don't have "it" and they need to work with what they have?

Thanks.

When you say that some golfers may not have "it", what does "it" mean? I'd be happy to give you my thoughts on what makes a good golf instructor....if you can tolerate some snarkiness.

No worries, Virtuoso... I can snark with the best of 'em. Thanks for replying.

"It" ... I don't know what that means for everyone else, but I'd like to know what others think "it" means to them. I think "it" most resembles "athleticism" to me. Dynamic balance, fluid motion... something along those lines.

Look down the line at your local driving range and I'd bet dollars to doughnuts that you can easily pick out the guys/gals that have "it" and those that do not... sans definition of "it."

dbl

New
If there are questions revolving here
A) Instructors
B) Players

And in B)Players regarding "it" etc, I that think that bad though many golfers are ...they can handle multiple patterns..not just that they have a "their swing"...

No worries, Virtuoso... I can snark with the best of 'em. Thanks for replying.