They call him Flipper!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello All.

Let me start by introducing myself. I am a Assistant Pro with a country club in southeastern USA. I am also a flipper. I passed the PAT, enrolled in the PGA PGM program, played high school golf rather competitively and maintained around a 3.1 hdcp all while flipping.

I have always been a terrible (by PGA club pro standards) ball striker. My short game and putting are the only reason I remain competitive. I started playing golf when I was 15 years old (kinda late). With my only swing experience before that being baseball I naturally thought I could take the same approach with golf. I was hooked. My parents found an instructor to teach me the basic concept of my first golf swing. To this day, 13 years later, my swing is still haunted by what he told me. "Don't move anything other then your arms and your hands when you swing the club. Lock your knees and bend at the waist." Needless to say, his teaching got rid of my baseball slice and taught me to FLIP. Obviously, that is not the way I still swing. I have learned to be very adapt at faking a good golf swing. I am a good athlete, well balanced, my take away has incredible extension, and my finish looks like the shadow of Ben Hogan himself. BUT IT'S ALL FAKE. In slow motion one can easily see that my hands are golf stupid. I think some times I even unhinge my wrist before my arms reach parallel to the ground. IT IS BAD.

Yesterday I played with our club champion who immediately noticed my flaw. He told me I needed to "twist back", "put the club on the movie screen", "hit from wall to wall". All these things I had never heard of. He told me, "Go to www.brianmanzella.com. Watch his vids on youtube. It might help you." So I am here.