What are the fundamental rules of the game?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm a high school golf coach and it's time to start getting ready for the season again. I always have difficulty teaching the rules of golf in a way that will allow my players to apply them during a round of golf.

I had an idea the other day to break the rules down and focus on the "fundamental" rules. The top twenty or so rules that are most important to the game.

My question is what would those fundamental rules be? Anyone have any input?

Jared Willerson

Super Moderator
Red stakes

White Stakes

Yellow Stakes

How to take a drop from each

Do not ground the club in a bunker

Play it as it lies.

Relief drops from a.) Casual Water b.) Cart Paths

Those are the ones that a lot of my players either get confused on or I need to teach, to me those are the very basics that every HS golfer should know

i see often confusion about yellow and red stakes

3 options for yellow

5 options for red.

ask them what they are...

also ask them about penalty for slow play:)

I also coach HS golf and every year it is interesting to see how some of the kids will apply the rules...funny what they can come up with. In any event, have the kids make all the decisions and apply the rules during play; this is how they learn.

Both of the prior posts are good. Here are some additions that seem to come up every year:

1) be clear about the Advice rule, both for players and parents. In our area some leagues allow players from the same school in the same group to play as teammates and give each other advice in matches (e.g. line of putt). in tourneys, obviously no advice.

2) lost ball = stoke and distance

3) A player can not move a white out of bounds stake/marker to play a shot (they can move other moveable obstructions).

4) Margins - the ball must be entirely out of bounds to be out of bounds, but on hazards it is in the hazard if it touches a yellow/red line, ground under repair, etc...