What is the worst thing you have done cuz it looked good on video?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am an amateur hobbyist trying to learn more about golf of course with the intent to improve my game. I think there are a lot of folks like me out there. I used video a lot last year with my own game. I tried for months to change a right elbow position just to make it LOOK more like Ben Hogans right elbow. I basically wrecked my full swing for the time I was trying to make that change. I finally realized there was no logical reason to change my game based on appearance of my swing on video.
I thought it might be fun to share stories about working on your game or if some of the pros around dare to admit mistakes made because of using video.
I am now convinced form follows function.

S

SteveT

Congratulations on your wise revelation, and in the words of that great and iconic golfer "Popeye", who put it best:

"I yam what I yam, and that's all what I yam!!!!!"

I chased elbow plane about same time I was chasing super pitch elbow rofl made my scores go UP-no bueno for me.
I am curious Brian about what you mean by neat and tidy pivot from face on.

Last edited:
This was pretty shameful:
bateman_mirror.jpg

Best unintentional question in a long time.
images

Lordosis, micro moves, the Snead squat, and...

Ignoring the safety rules.

DSC01252.jpg

Kevin Shields

Super Moderator
I chased elbow plane about same time I was chasing super pitch elbow rofl made my scores go UP-no bueno for me.
I am curious Brian about what you mean by neat and tidy pivot from face on.

I think he means restricting range of motion to "look" cleaner and more "efficient". Sexy at p10.

Kevin Shields

Super Moderator
Probably the only thing that I chased briefly was a flatter left wrist past impact to look better on video. I hit it so much worse it didn't last long but I tried nonetheless strictly based on video.

fadegolfer