Zero-Out Land

Status
Not open for further replies.
Would it really improve my golf ball striking if I could get my swing zeroed out ?

Is this something we should all strive for and would it make a golfer more consistant?

I'm thinking it would.

Yes. However, knowing how to zero out ones swing is what will improve your ball striking. Most people don't know how to hit a ball straight and after you have this knowledge you have a better understanding of your swing which should translate into better ballstriking. I didn't how to hit a straight shot before I saw BMan's explanations of the D plane this year and I've been playing golf for 26+ years (I'm 39 years old).

What counts is the type of shot you can hit under pressure. I feel most confident drawing the ball. Some guys like a fade and others like to hit it straight. The type of shot one consistently wants to hits really comes down to confidence and personal preference (IMO).

Knowing how to hit a straight shot will make you a better ball striker (unless you can't take the knowledge and apply it). The knowledge about the D-plane isn't well known or accepted. Most teaching pros (except for those on this website) have no clue about the D-plane and therefore can't tell a golfer what they need to hit the desired shot.

I have been hitting balls with the Trackman working on getting my numbers to zero land and I have been hitting some awesome shots. I will tell you that it feels like I am coming over the top on the downswing which is not the case when I see the numbers and look at the video. I had my chapter championship yesterday and after playing the first six holes nine over and taking a nine on a par five. I said f$ck it I am playing the rest of the way with my Trackman swing and for the next nine holes I was three under and then it started pouring so bad that I bogeyed in.