Swinging too hard

Status
Not open for further replies.
Any tips or tricks for stopping someone swinging too hard? I have gotten in the habit of swinging way way way too fast and too hard, so much so that I think I'm loosing a lot of potential clubhead speed. As an example, when I started playing, I could hit a 3 wood about 245, and driver 265. Now I only hit 3 wood about 225 and driver 245. Basically, I've lost about 10mph swing speed. My transition is too fast, and I constantly feel like I'm really hauling the club through the impact zone. Hands get too far ahead, shot gets blocked, face never releases, etc.

Now, here is what I have tried:

1) Counting 123, 123, 123, 123... waltz tempo. Works for everything but the transition. My transition is still so quick I have to race to catch back up with the club.

2) Control the entire swing with the hips. Again, didn't help the transition. It's like I get to the top and my instinct says "ok already... GO!".

3) Pausing at the top. This is the strange one. Sometimes it works, but most times it just feels contrived.

For those that have seen my swing sequence, I have been working on a little more lateral motion in the transition and more hands in front on the backswing. It's working slowly (along with fixing a grip fault I discovered), but the fairway woods and driver are still a huge problem. I used to hit these so well...just aim at the inside corner and go. Now it's a nightmare.

I feel your pain. My last round I experienced the same thing, only it was hitting every iron about 15 to 20 yds longer than previous week. Drove me nuts, flew several greens, and cost me a bunch of strokes.

Went to practice area the next day and it continued. For some reason my Pitching wedge that was going around 125 is now going like 140. 50 degree wedge around 130. This is only good if it continues, but this is golf, always a lot of variables surfacing and subsiding.