Lesson from Hell

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have been teaching golf for over 25 years and I finally met my match yesterday. I feel very competent about my abilities to help a player improve but this one was the exception. I had a student that no matter what I tried to explain and fix didn't seem to help. In fact he got worse! How many of you out there have had a similar experience....one I hope to never repeat. It almost got to the point I thought he was trying to be awful........I kept looking around looking for Alan Funt from Candid Camera!

Maybe suggest to him the "Dan Plan" lesson package? 10% off if he pre-pays for 10,000 hrs of lessons. :)

One of my best friends growing up was a sports nut, a true super fan. He could quote you just about any fact or stat from any sport, just absolutely loved sports. Unfortunately, he had less than zero athletic ability/coordination. He tried everything, and struggled mightily to do the smallest things... throw a ball type things. He's now coaching HS football, and loves it. We knew he was always going to be involved in sports, it just wasn't going to be playing them.

I really tried everything I could to try to help this poor sole but his comment to any change, even the slightest adjustment, made him comment that it felt strange. It was almost like he was trying to prove that the correction wouldn't work! I don't know if I could survive 10,000 hours of that........but I do hope to have another crack at figuring him out. Any other horror stories from fellow Instructors are welcome along with suggestions on how to wrap up this type of lesson.

There are personalities like this. I have seen it in a few people over my years in business. My advice is that it's his problem, not your problem. Who needs this grief? I would simply tell him that, because of his negative responses you will not be able to continue trying to help him.