SAM PuttLab etc

Status
Not open for further replies.
Just wanted to start a discussion on devices like this that give readings on various aspects of putter path etc.

On balance do they really help the player?

Does anyone know of any proper research that tracks this (rather than just anecdotes)?

Of course they provide data/information for the pro/teacher and the player but then what?

One story:

I spoke to a pro in NZ that had the SAM. He measured the best putter in the cliub and his stats were so bad that the pro would not share them with the player.

Bye the way the pro played a major tour and has been prominent in some major Senior events since so he is not your average club pro by a long shot. So no doubt he had his reasons for not giving out the results in this case.

Of course this is but one story. I have also heard others were people got overwhelmed in the stats.

For the record I work in IT and I am for technology in general.

Puttmad I believe has some experience with the SAM.

I am sure there is many pros that would be bad for the SAM Lab, not to pick on BIlly Mayfair....great practice stroke, but time to putt still a some weird action. I believe Brad Faxon (great putter FYI) hits all putts with 1 or2 degrees open face.
Good topic
JeffS

CJ,