So what IS going on with the "modern" golf swing?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Disclaimer: I'm not an expert. I'm a mid 80's player thinking out loud and looking for educated opinions. I also think to much.

I've been watching lots of video of the younger players on tour and in college. All most all of these swings seem to be very similar. Yes they look different if you look at the "positions" during the swing. The one thing that makes them similar in my opinion is how dynamic they are.

I know there has been lots of discussion on this forum about things like pivot, snapping the chain, the run up and jump (never did figure this out). My question is how are these kids learning to do this?

This is all very interesting to me because the way I see it the young players that are playing well right now learned to play this way 10 to 15 years BEFORE anything that is being taught right now. This just baffles me. We have access to more information, more technology, more GOLF knowledge than at any other time in the HISTORY of golf instruction.

And yet the most talented players in the world right now learned their swing before any of the things listed above were available. What gives? How did these guys learn to swing this way? How do you teach someone to swing this way?

What makes the "modern" golf swing what it is?

Talent.

I believe that natural talent and a little bit of instruction is what shapes the pros. I see many young golfers and college golfers at my range who have had limited instruction, but have great swings and can play. They were taught a few basics along the way, but got themselves the rest of the way. Not to say that instruction isn't important for most of us, but I think the truly elite get there mostly on their own and find their own swings so to speak.

I think it was the rejection of instruction which caused these swings.