The latest and greatest

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have been playing with Ping eye 2's for about 18 years and have decided to look for new irons. I do not keep up with equipment at all what are the best clubs out there?

I'd suggest finding a clubfitter that has the Trackman device. There's one where I live in Atlanta and it costs $150 for the clubfitting using Trackman, but at least I would feel it's well worth it to be sure that the clubs are the best for me.

3JACK

Ryan Smither

Super Moderator
Great question. Do we have any final word on the big ugly cloud hanging over perimeter weighted irons? (cloud = that they are tougher to control the clubface with)

I'm currently playing the Callaway X-forged irons -- I don't like the long irons and I've heard similar reviews from others.

David, Perhaps you should upgrade to some Ping Zing 2's? ;)

Brian Manzella

Administrator
David.

If I was starting from scratch with a new set of clubs, I'd fly to Phoenix and spend time with Ping and with , and go from there.

Now, in your case, I think it is much easier, because, well, you have me. ;)

So, I'm thinking PING. And here is the set up:

G10 Driver - Loft and Shaft to be determined on TrackMan
G10 3-wood or 4-wood - same as above
i10- 3 and 4 irons - KB Tour shafts, specs to be determined
S57- 5 through PW - KB's, same as above
Tour W wedges - probably 60° and 54°

I bet I could get a good deal on the Zing's but I might shoot for the early 2000 technology. Ryan are you going to Augusta this year?

Let me know when you are going. I have been anticipating the second round of the Manzella putting challenge where the winners eat for free.

If I was starting from scratch with a new set of clubs, I'd fly to Phoenix and spend time with Ping and with , and go from there.

what abt the 13th club brian? are you an extra wedge guy, or a 5/ 7 wood guy?

I think PING clubs are ugly.