OCTOBER 24, 2006 — 7:00 EDT — LIVE THREAD

Status
Not open for further replies.
late is unforgivable

Hello Brian

Need some help 'Rolling the Rock'. Used to be a decent putter - never great - now a basket case. Short putts are a disaster - pushes, pulls, mishits etc. Can't get the putter to go past the ball from 3 or 4 feet on in.

Help - Bruce

I'm fairly new to TGM and I'm having some trouble really "feeling" my no.3 PP. On chips and pitches, I'm making better center-club contact than ever, but in my full swing I seem to lose the feeling in my right index finger. Is this simply leakage? Any good drills to engrain this feeling of a lagging clubhead?

Brian Manzella

Administrator
Ok...

Here you go Bob (rhw)...

Set up

swing the club back and forth from the TOP to the finish swivel

back and forth

forth and back

make a divot/scrape in the same spot going and coming

try to get to 10 forward swings

rest

now

put a ball down

make a swing at it

but don't stop

make another swing

so

you are making four swings

and three divots

and hitting the ball on the first forward (swing)

Brian Manzella

Administrator
Hello Brian

Need some help 'Rolling the Rock'. Used to be a decent putter - never great - now a basket case. Short putts are a disaster - pushes, pulls, mishits etc. Can't get the putter to go past the ball from 3 or 4 feet on in.

Help - Bruce

Try this drill:

Put a tee in the back of the hole.

TeeCup side facing the ball

you are putting a putt of 3 to 6 feet

you are trying to hit the tee and gradually knock the tee further into the back of the hole

BOOM

Boom

You'll be very surprised

Last edited:

Jared Willerson

Super Moderator
How can I create more lag? Lately I feel like I am hitting the ball solid, but according to indoor hitting bays I am only swinging the driver about 92 mph. I am swinging the 6 iron 90 mph. Consequently according to the monitor 6 iron 190 yards; driver 230. both clubs are consistently 1.48 - 1.55 smash factor.