Swingers vs Hitters, a continuum??

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am fairly new to TGM and this forum, and I have learned a lot in a short period...what I would like is some more "real world" examples of some of the concepts. For instance, I think I have a pretty good theorhetical grasp of Swinging vs Hitting, but it's not always easy to see with the naked and untrained eye. I'd like to see people's suggestions of where different players fit in on the Hitting vs Swinging continuum. On a scale of 1 to 10, let's call 1 pure swinging and 10 pure hitting, with 5 being a "switter". I'd be interested in where you place both current and historical players. I know there are cases where certain players swing longer clubs and hit shorter ones or vice versa, or changes in style over time, so I know everything doesn't necessarily fit in perfectly to this type of analysis...nonetheless I am curious as to what your collective opinions are.

quote:Originally posted by huestisc

I am fairly new to TGM and this forum, and I have learned a lot in a short period...what I would like is some more "real world" examples of some of the concepts. For instance, I think I have a pretty good theorhetical grasp of Swinging vs Hitting, but it's not always easy to see with the naked and untrained eye. I'd like to see people's suggestions of where different players fit in on the Hitting vs Swinging continuum. On a scale of 1 to 10, let's call 1 pure swinging and 10 pure hitting, with 5 being a "switter". I'd be interested in where you place both current and historical players. I know there are cases where certain players swing longer clubs and hit shorter ones or vice versa, or changes in style over time, so I know everything doesn't necessarily fit in perfectly to this type of analysis...nonetheless I am curious as to what your collective opinions are.