Target-ward Left Shoulder Moves, and Moving Centers

Status
Not open for further replies.
You need to read Jorgensen book.

MUCH MORE to it than that.

These "so-called" scientific methods MISS Jorgensen's assertions completely.

Whiff......

Brian, I have read Jorgensen's stuff and think it's great. I've also spent some time with Cochran, who doesn't suffer fools gladly--which I found out when I tried to explain to him one of my early opinions of how I think the golf swing should be described (not in terms of the math but how, as a golf instructor, I would go about optimizing a student's swing). He only partially lit up when I adjusted my explanation to include the analogy of the hammer thrower. At least he told me I was on the right track, and I think I have a better handle on it now....some 9 years later.

Firstly, I'm a broken down old range pro, not a scientist, so even if I tend to use some scientific terminology to communicate what I'm thinking, I don't presume to use any scientific method, nor do I feel that Jorgensen's assertions are the absolute gold standard, so it's likely that I'll appear to miss them. But I think you may have missed my point also.

Jorgensen took the two-pendellum model and adjusted it such that there was a linear shift factored in at the center pivot or "hub", and by doing so, his calculated clubhead speeds and the actual clubhead speeds were in very good agreement. But, he readily concedes that, in reality, the hub is displaced along a curved line or arc, which is to say that the hub is merely displaced, in the horizontal plane and vertical plane.

This type of displacement, combined with the fact that it starts with a positive acceleration and is abruptly followed by a negative acceleration, is starting to make it sound like a kind of third pendellum. In other words, he is modeling the left shoulder joint which is moving in a curvilinear fashion toward the target, but mostly rotating.